Jun
29
2016

Until recently, if you practiced in Michigan, you weren’t required by law to take continuing education. That is no longer the case.

Governor Rick Snyder signed Public Acts 47 and 49, effective June 13, requiring that veterinarians and veterinary technicians take continuing medical education (CME). Prior to this, Michigan was the only state without such a requirement, reported the Michigan Veterinary Medical Association (MVMA).

Beginning in 2019 in Michigan, license renewals will be accompanied by a CME requirement: 45 hours for veterinarians, and 15 hours for veterinary technicians. No mandates for specific CME subject matter are specified, noted the MVMA.

VetFolio, a joint partnership between AAHA and the North American Veterinary Community (NAVC) that brought together the best educational material in the industry, can help. It offers online, 24/7 access to continuing education courses as well as conference proceedings, peer-reviewed journal articles, practice management tips, and more.

“We like to call VetFolio a vehicle for ‘continuous’ education, rather than the more traditional term: continuing education, although it does enable professionals to fulfill CE requirements,” said Bobby Lee, executive director. 

Photo credit: © iStock/Poike

The Standard of Veterinary Excellence ®
American Animal Hospital Association | Copyright © 2017 | Privacy Statement | Contact Us