AAHA recognizes 2018 veterinary students for excellence in primary care

LAKEWOOD, Colorado – June 20, 2018 – The American Animal Hospital Association (AAHA) is proud to announce the 2018 recipients of the AAHA Awards for Proficiency in Primary Care.

AAHA works with the Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges’ Primary Care Veterinary Educators to present these awards in recognition of fourth-year AAHA student members who have shown outstanding clinical proficiency in primary care. The program is open to all fourth-year students who attend a veterinary college with an AAHA-accredited teaching hospital.

“Primary care is the foundation of excellent veterinary medicine. The AAHA Awards for Proficiency in Primary Care acknowledge the efforts of student veterinarians who go above and beyond to provide high-quality care in the types of cases veterinarians see on a daily basis,” said AAHA Chief Executive Officer, Michael Cavanaugh, DVM, DABVP (Emeritus). “AAHA is proud to recognize the outstanding achievements of the next generation of Champions for Excellent Care with this award.”

  • Lawrence Santistevan, Colorado State University
  • Justine Rasche, Michigan State University
  • Erika Olney, Midwestern University
  • Emme Andrews, Mississippi State University
  • Sophia Amirsultan, North Carolina State University
  • Ann Ascott, The Ohio State University
  • Jenny Hardy, Oklahoma State University
  • Morgan Movius, Oregon State University
  • Janet Roque-Torres, Purdue University
  • Erin Hamaba, Ross University
  • Sarah Keyser, Texas A&M University
  • Megan Andreassi, Tufts University
  • Gabrielle Broussard, Tuskegee University
  • Mélissa Gohier, Université de Montréal
  • Jin Yoon, University of California–Davis
  • Rebecca Rosenblatt, University of Florida
  • Megan Pounder, University of Guelph
  • Mark Sadler, University of Illinois
  • Karissa Mitchell, University of Saskatchewan
  • Kelsey Smith, University of Tennessee
  • Meryl Schimek, University of Wisconsin–Madison
  • Melissa Adams, VA-MD College of Veterinary Medicine
  • Kara Fenity, Washington State University

Award winners receive five years of complimentary AAHA membership, including subscriptions to the online Journal of the American Animal Hospital Association (JAAHA) and Trends magazine, $100 off registration to AAHA’s Veterinary Management Series: Practice Essentials, formal announcements in AAHA publications, and a personalized plaque. The award is valued at approximately $2,500.