LGVMA honors veterinary school deans for promoting inclusion, diversity

The Lesbian and Gay Veterinary Medical Association (LGVMA) presented 2013 Leadership Awards to two veterinary school deans for their efforts to infuse the veterinary profession with inclusion and diversity.

The award winners were Deborah T. Kochevar, DVM, PhD, dean of the Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine at Tufts University, and James W. Lloyd, DVM, PhD, dean of the University of Florida College of Veterinary Medicine.

According to Tufts University, the LGVMA's Leadership Awards are presented to individuals or organizations that demonstrate outstanding leadership and/or community activism within the veterinary community.

Kochevar was the first veterinary school dean to join LGVMA, Tufts reported. Her leadership has greatly advanced the LGVMA's efforts to promote equality in the veterinary profession, said Sandy Hazanow, DVM, LGVMA president, and Cummings School alumna.

"We are tremendously honored to have Dean Kochevar, who is so highly regarded in academic circles, helping us to lead the way by being a model for equality and encouraging dialogue about LGBT issues," Hazanow said. "She has helped the organization grow so it can support LGBT students and practicing veterinarians in their many essential roles."

About Lloyd, Hazanow said, "By providing us with strong guidance, Dr. Lloyd helped us create a strategic plan for the future of our organization so that we may better serve our membership and community in creating a culturally inclusive profession."