2022 AAHA Award for Proficiency in Primary Care awarded to 27 Exemplary Students

Lakewood, Col. (July 5, 2022) —Twenty-seven fourth-year veterinary students were selected to receive the prestigious 2022 AAHA Award for Proficiency in Primary Care for demonstrating exceptional achievements during veterinary school.

AAHA presents the award each year in collaboration with the Association of American Veterinary Medical College’s Primary Care Veterinary Educators to recognize a fourth-year AAHA student member who shows outstanding clinical proficiency in veterinary primary care. All fourth-year students attending a veterinary college with an AAHA-accredited teaching hospital are eligible.

2022 Winners:

Brooke Appleton Tuskegee University
Johnathan Archer Oregon State University
Elizabeth Bartlett Iowa State University
Dorian Carter Colorado State University
Ashley Dane-Gressman Texas A&M University College of Veterinary Medicine
Chris Deignan Mississippi State University College of Veterinary Medicine
Jessica Garofalo University of Guelph Ontario Veterinary College
Bailey Hendrickson Oklahoma State University
Chelsea Hermann VA-MD College of Veterinary Medicine
Margaret Joel The Ohio State University Veterinary Medical Center
Jacob Lake University of Wisconsin-Madison School of Veterinary Medicine
Lara Lieberman UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine
Emily Lieuwen University of Saskatchewan, Western College of Veterinary Medicine
James Mackey Auburn University
Kirby Marden Washington State University
Sarah McTague University of Missouri Veterinary Health Center
Rachel Meyers NC State University College of Veterinary Medicine
Desiraye Paredes University of Tennessee College of Veterinary Medicine
Ross Pillischer University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine
Rebecca Purdy Ross University School of Veterinary Medicine
Lela Remington Midwestern University
Jay Schaub University of Florida
Sophia Schuder University of Minnesota
Cameron Seger Purdue University
Courtney Senkewitz Michigan State University
Briana Stockdale Cummings School of Veterinary Medicine at Tufts University
Alyssa Strait University of Illinois


Each student will receive five years of complimentary AAHA membership, including subscriptions to the print and online editions of AAHA’s practice-management magazine, Trends®, as well as digital access to JAAHA®, Journal of the American Animal Hospital Association, and free access to AAHA Learning, AAHA’s online CE platform. The total award is valued at $3,925 and includes a $500 credit each year that can be used on any AAHA product or service. 

This award recognizes rising stars in pet healthcare, which is truly at the heart of what AAHA is all about,” said AAHA Chief Executive Officer Garth Jordan, MBA, CSM, CSPO. “All other aspects of caring for our pets start with high-quality primary care, so we applaud the extraordinary effort and dedication it takes to achieve this proficiency. We are honored to offer this award package to help further the future of veterinary medicine.”  


About AAHA

Since 1933, the American Animal Hospital Association has been the only organization to accredit veterinary hospitals throughout the United States and Canada according to more than 900 standards directly correlated to high-quality medicine and compassionate care. Accreditation in veterinary medicine is voluntary. The AAHA-accredited logo is the best way to know a practice has been evaluated by a third-party. Look for the AAHA logo or visit aaha.org.