AAHA Leadership Groups

AAHA leadership groups

AAHA’s international recognition as a leader in the industry is a tribute to the vision and dedication of the many veterinary professionals who have devoted time and energy to serve AAHA through the years.

Ready to give back to the industry in a leadership role for one of the most respected Associations in the profession? Shape the future of veterinary medicine and help us continue to strive for excellence when you become part of task force teams, development committees, or advisory groups.

Email aaha for more information

AAHA leadership groups


Animal Ethics and Welfare Committee

This committee is charged with reviewing AAHA's position statements in relation to world views on animal welfare and ethics, and recommending the development of new statements as needed.
  • Chair: Dr. Stacey Burdick-Taul
  • Co-chair/Staff liaison: Sarah Magoon, LVT
  • Board liaison: Dr. Scott Driever
  • Dr. Allen Rena
  • Dr. Marcy Hammerle
  • Alicia Artman

Awards Committee

The Awards Committee is charged with the responsibility of selecting qualified recipients of the AAHA-Accredited Practice of the Year Award and continually reviewing the award criteria, submission requirements, and process for selecting recipients.
  • Monique Weldon, DVM
  • Libby Roller, RVT
  • Mark A. Thompson, DVM, CCRT
  • Allison Whartenby, BS, CVT

Leadership Identification and Nominating Committee

The Leadership Identification and Nominating Committee  (LINC) is charged with the identification and recruitment of the individuals that best meet the skill requirements for a competency-based board.
  • Chair: Dr. Bo Williamson
  • Immediate past president: Dr. Pam Nichols
  • Past president: Dr. Peg Rucker
  • Cyndi Valerio, CVT
  • Dr. Teva Stone
  • Dr. Cheryl Roth

Membership Audit and Control Committee

The Membership Audit and Control Committee (MACC) is responsible for ensuring that applicants are properly qualified to be accepted for membership in the association in accordance with all current standards and bylaws, including the responsibility for ensuring that all members maintain membership in accordance with current standards and bylaws.
  • Member liason: Dr. Natalie Barrett
  • Chair/staff liason: Margaret Spalletta, CVT
  • Board liaison: Dr. Mark Thompson
  • Molly Lautzenheiser, CVPM
  • Kelly M. Lemke, AAS, CVT
  • Michael Shane, CVPM
  • Dr. Kimberly Downes
  • Dr. Becca Raffel
  • Mercy McClendon, CVPM

Practice Accreditation Committee

The Practice Accreditation Committee (PAC) is responsible for seeking ways to improve the accreditation experience by sharing personal successes, and soliciting feedback from other AAHA Accredited Practice Members to ensure a “global” perspective.
  • Chair: Dr. Craig Clouse
  • Co-chair: Anthony Merkle, CVT
  • Board liaison: Dr. Margot Vahrenwald
  • Dr. Shannon M. Campbell
  • Dr. Kimberly A. Downes
  • Sue Allen, RVT
  • Dr. Ronald G. Hendrikson
  • Kelly Neu, CVT

Other AAHA representatives

AVMA Animal Welfare Committee
  • Jodi Wiktorowski, DVM
  • Jessica Quillivan, DVM
AVMA Clinical Practitioners Advisory Committee
  • Laura Niman, DVM
  • Scott Driever, DVM
AVMA Committee on Antimicrobials
  • Erin Frey, DVM, DACVPM
  • Lindsay R. Wright, DVM
AVMA Delegate
  • Wendy L. Hauser, DVM
  • Kate Crumley, DVM
AVMA Legislative Advisory Committee
  • Peter Hellyer, DVM
  • William Fredregill, DVM
International Council for Veterinary Assessment
  • Mark Russak, DVM
Pet Nutrition Alliance Board
  • Jessica Vogelsang, DVM